This is Our Story

Contributors

By Ashley Elston

Formats and Prices

Price

$8.99

Price

$11.99 CAD

Perfect for fans of Holly Jackson and Lucy Foley, don't miss this thrilling mystery with a big twist by the New York Times bestselling author of First Lie Wins, Ashley Elston!

Five boys went hunting. Four came back. And the evidence shows any one of them could be guilty.


Kate Marino's senior year internship at the District Attorney's Office isn't exactly glamorous–more like an excuse to leave school early that looks good on college applications. Then the DA hands her boss, Mr. Stone, the biggest case her small town of Belle Terre has ever seen. The River Point Boys are all anyone can talk about. Despite their damning toxicology reports the morning of the accident, the DA wants the boys' case swept under the rug. He owes his political office to their powerful families.

Kate won't let that happen. Digging up secrets without revealing her own is a dangerous line to walk; Kate has personal reasons for seeking justice. As she gets dangerously close to the truth, it becomes clear that the early morning accident might not have been an accident at all-and if she doesn't uncover the true killer, more than one life could be on the line including her own.

Genre:

  • "Absorbing, haunting, and memorable... a slow-burning mystery/love story that ratchets up the tension with each chapter. By the time you reach the end you will be breathless!"
    Colleen Houck, New York Times best-selling author of the Tiger's Curse series
  • "Elston’s exploration of privilege, justice, and digital media . . . highlights the duality of the human soul, the ways technology can twist the truth, and the difficulty of knowing who to trust."
    Publishers Weekly
  • "Chilling and suspenseful, with just the right number of twists."
    Kirkus Reviews
  • "Elston spins out a solid mystery... She sustains a high level of tension. For teens who enjoy watching the heedless-but-good girl take on a crew of privileged bad boys to exonerate her guy, this is their story."
    BCCB
  • "Intrigue and suspense, drugs and partying, social media, budding romance, mounting clues, and characters who embody good and bad--some evil--make this incredibly crafted novel impossible to set aside. It is a stellar summer reading or book discussion group choice... This novel will circulate among all readers."
    VOYA
  • *"The characters are believable and well developed in this stimulating and intriguing plot. This mesmerizing romantic mystery is bursting with plot twists and turns that will leave the reader highly satisfied and wishing they had not yet finished the book."
    School Library Council, starred review
  • "The plot build cleverly, interspersed with text messages, mistaken identities, whiffs of political corruption, and mysterious narrations from someone who knows what happened... impossible to put down."
    Booklist

On Sale
Nov 4, 2016
Page Count
320 pages
ISBN-13
9781484731864

About the Author

Headshot of author Ashley Elston

Ashley Elston is the author of several novels including: The Rules for Disappearing (a finalist in the Best Young Adult Novel category of the International Thriller Writers Thriller Awards) and This Is Our Story. She has a liberal arts degree from Louisiana State University in Shreveport and worked for many years as a wedding photographer before turning her hand to writing. Ashley lives in Shreveport with her husband and three sons. For more information about Ashley and her books, please visit www.ashleyelston.com.

#ThisIsOurStory

Ashley Elston

About the Author

Ashley Elston is a New York Times bestselling author. She has written young adult novels including The Rules for Disappearing (a finalist in the Best Young Adult Novel category of the International Thriller Writers Thriller Awards), The Rules for Breaking, and This Is Our Story. She has a liberal arts degree from Louisiana State University in Shreveport and worked for many years as a wedding photographer before turning her hand to writing. Ashley lives in Shreveport with her husband and three sons. For more information about Ashley and her books, she invites you to visit http://www.ashleyelston.com.

Learn more about this author